Daytona 500 winners: List of past champions, most wins in NASCAR history

first_img22Joey LoganoTeam Penske (2)Ford2016 9Bill ElliottMelling RacingFord1986 88Dale Jarrett (2)Robert Yates Racing (2)Ford1997 4Ernie IrvanMorgan-McClure MotorsportsChevrolet1992 72Benny ParsonsL.G. DeWittChevrolet1976 21A. J. FoytWood Brothers Racing (3)Mercury1973 22Fireball RobertsJim StephensPontiac1963 24Jeff Gordon (2)Hendrick Motorsports (4)Chevrolet2000 17Darrell WaltripHendrick Motorsports (2)Chevrolet1990 88Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2)Hendrick Motorsports (8)Chevrolet2015 15Michael Waltrip (2)Dale Earnhardt, Inc. (2)Chevrolet2004 3Austin DillonRichard Childress Racing (3)Chevrolet2019 22Ward BurtonBill Davis RacingDodge2003 48Jimmie Johnson (2)Hendrick Motorsports (7)Chevrolet2014 48Jimmie JohnsonHendrick Motorsports (6)Chevrolet2007 12Ryan NewmanPenske RacingDodge2009 11Mario Andretti†Holman-Moody (2)Ford1968 12Bobby Allison (3)Stavola Brothers RacingBuick1989 24Jeff Gordon (3)Hendrick Motorsports (5)Chevrolet2006 43Richard Petty (5)Petty Enterprises (7)Dodge1975 27Junior JohnsonJohn MasoniChevrolet1961 17Matt Kenseth (2)Roush Fenway Racing (2)Ford2013 11Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing (2)Toyota2017 15Bobby AllisonBud Moore EngineeringFord1979 43Richard Petty (6)Petty Enterprises (8)Oldsmobile1980 15Michael WaltripDale Earnhardt, Inc.Chevrolet2002 28Cale Yarborough (3)Ranier-Lundy (2)Pontiac1984 11Denny Hamlin (3)Joe Gibbs Racing (4)Toyota The Daytona 500 has long held a special place in NASCAR lore, serving as the season-opening race for more than 35 years and being part of the NASCAR circuit for 60.The 500-mile track at Daytona International Speedway is the site of some of the sport’s most iconic moments, from Richard Petty’s record seventh Daytona 500 triumph in 1981 to Dale Earnhart’s 1998 victory after years of near-misses. 28Buddy BakerRanier-LundyOldsmobile1981 28Fred LorenzenHolman-MoodyFord1966 29Kevin HarvickRichard Childress Racing (2)Chevrolet2008 9Bill Elliott (2)Melling Racing (2)Ford1988 28Cale Yarborough (4)Ranier-Lundy (3)Chevrolet1985center_img 17Matt KensethRoush Fenway RacingFord2010 40Pete HamiltonPetty Enterprises (4)Plymouth1971 No.DriverTeamManufacturer1959 8Dale Earnhardt Jr.Dale Earnhardt, Inc. (3)Chevrolet2005 4Sterling Marlin (2)Morgan-McClure Motorsports (3)Chevrolet1996 4Sterling MarlinMorgan-McClure Motorsports (2)Chevrolet1995 20Marvin PanchSmokey YunickPontiac1962 43Richard Petty (3)Petty Enterprises (5)Plymouth1972 24Jeff GordonHendrick Motorsports (3)Chevrolet1998 98LeeRoy YarbroughJunior Johnson & AssociatesFord1970 Who won the Daytona 500 in 2020?Denny Hamlin is the reigning Daytona 500 champion, winning the race in back-to-back years (2019, 2020). He won his third “Great American Race” in four years, having also claimed the title in 2016.Who is the oldest Daytona 500 winner?Bobby Allison remains the oldest driver to win the Daytona 500. He won the 1988 race at 50 years old.Who is the youngest Daytona 500 winner?Trevor Bayne became the youngest Daytona 500 winner in 2011 at 20 years old.List of Daytona 500 past winnersYear 3Dale EarnhardtRichard Childress RacingChevrolet1999 43Richard PettyPetty Enterprises (2)Plymouth1965 18Dale JarrettJoe Gibbs RacingChevrolet1994 28Davey AllisonRobert Yates RacingFord1993 10Derrike CopeWhitcomb RacingChevrolet1991 21Trevor BayneWood Brothers Racing (5)Ford2012 43Richard Petty (4)Petty Enterprises (6)Dodge1974 11Cale Yarborough (2)Junior Johnson & Associates (2)Chevrolet1978 21David PearsonWood Brothers Racing (4)Mercury1977 21Tiny LundWood Brothers RacingFord1964 1Jamie McMurrayEarnhardt Ganassi RacingChevrolet2011 11Denny Hamlin (2)Joe Gibbs Racing (3)Toyota2020 88Dale Jarrett (3)Robert Yates Racing (3)Ford2001 21Cale YarboroughWood Brothers Racing (2)Mercury1969 43Richard Petty (2)Petty Enterprises (3)Plymouth1967 42Lee PettyPetty EnterprisesOldsmobile1960 5Geoffrey BodineHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet1987 41Kurt BuschStewart-Haas RacingFord2018 43Richard Petty (7)Petty Enterprises (9)Buick1982 88Bobby Allison (2)DiGard MotorsportsBuick1983 MORE: NASCAR rule changes for 2019 explainedNine different drivers have claimed the last nine Daytona 500 races, reflecting the unpredictability of the storied course.Here’s a look at the history of past Daytona 500 winners, including the record-holder for most wins all time.Who has won the most Daytona 500 races?Richard Petty won the most Daytona 500 races with seven victories.last_img read more